//
you're reading...
Life ect., Moldova

Finding Purpose after Peace Corps

My job search process started almost five months ago. I started to prepare resumes and cover letters in February, working to sum up my two years of Peace Corps into concise points. And then I began researching where I might like to work, compiling a list and starting to send some applications out. However I didn’t start applying in earnest until May, about two months before my Peace Corps service ended. When I started I was applying for a wide variety of jobs, in consulting, development, research, finance and analysis – casting a wide net. And over the last five months, I’ve applied to easily 300 jobs.

I have been back in the US for about two months now and have spent a large portion of that time engaged in an active job search. I’ve traveled all over the DC Metropolitan area, paying over to $200 for parking, using lots of data (via Waze) to find all the offices, all to attend almost 20 official job interviews. I’ve spent lots of time obsessing over essays and answers to job application materials.

I’ve gone on ten blind coffee dates, meeting with friends of friends, to discuss professional advice, job prospects and pick their brains on career advice. I’ve been shocked by how kind and willing to help so many people have been. I have been surprised by strange interactions and unique questions during many of the coffee dates and official interviews. I’ve complained and discussed with both my parents for many hours; debating the merits of various paths.

I’ve caught and corrected myself using Romanian words during interviews in English.  I’ve mastered the art of answering strengths and weaknesses well. And I’ve made countless lists detailing whats most important to me in a new job.

Eventually after rejecting four offers, that weren’t quite right, the choice came down to two really amazing offers. (I know I am incredibly blessed.) I made several pro/con lists and spent a week weighing the pros and cons of both offers.

Ultimately, my choice was guided by the sentiments that helped me find motivation, focus and positivity during my Peace Corps service.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.

I am proud to announce I am joining an organization that I feel is working to make a positive impact on youth (18-35) in the US. An organization whose mission I connect with, in a role I feel is going to use and help me to develop my abilities; and even includes lots of domestic travel!

I will make sure to continue to post going forward about the places my new job takes me, both physically and intellectually.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Finding Purpose after Peace Corps

  1. Wooo! So proud of you, Leah!!

    Posted by Juli | October 2, 2015, 11:24 pm
  2. Congratulations. You are still coming for an Italian dinner on Sunday, right ?

    Sent from my iPhone Dr Chip Beck Combatartistchipbeck.tumblr.com

    >

    Posted by drchipbeck | October 3, 2015, 12:20 am
  3. Leah, congrats on your new job. I’m glad you’re happy with the choice — seems like a great one to me! Very best wishes, Joanne Thornton

    >

    Posted by Joanne Thornton | October 3, 2015, 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
