//
you're reading...
Interviews, Moldova

Moldovan Interview Series: Nadia

This is the fifth in series of interviews, all about Volunteering being a two-way street. We hear the term V-squared, a lot during our training in Peace Corps, which stands for volunteers creating volunteers; and as Peace Corps Volunteers our goal is not simply to encourage volunteering in America, but also in the countries in which we serve.

The woman below has been an amazing tutor. While I didn’t meet her until my second year here, I’ve loved working with her and she’s helped my Romanian greatly, besides being a great tutor, she’s also a lovely woman and she’s truly sweet.

1. Name & age:
Crusnevschi Nadia, 34

2. Where were you born?
I was born in the Republic of Moldova, Soroca

3. Did you go to university? If so, where do/did you go and what did you study?
I graduated from State University of Moldova, Chisinau. I studied English Philology.

4. Where do you work?
I am a teacher of English

5. Tell us a bit about yourself and your family:
My family is not big. We live in Balti. My husband’s name is Radu. He is a graphic designer. I have a son, Vladut. He is 6 years old. I have also a sister, Victoria. She lives in Chisinau, she plays the violin, and is very successful in this. I am proud about my family.

6. What do you like to do in your free time? Do you have any hobbies?
I like dancing zumba, reading books, and of course spending time with my family.

7. Tell us about the first time you met a Peace Corps volunteer…
It was in 2008 when I became a language instructor at Peace Corps. I remember how nervous I was, struggling to understand what Americans say. Fortunately I felt comfortable very soon listening and speaking to them because they all were very nice and patient with me.

8. Has your perspective on Volunteering changed?
Yes it has. I began to appreciate a lot the people who decided to be volunteers, understand their values and try to introduce them into my list of values, to do something good and valuable for somebody and enjoy their happiness.

9. Has your perspective about Americans changed?
I didn’t have anything to change, just strengthened my good opinion about them.

10. How have Peace Corps volunteers impacted your life?
The experience I had getting to know them is very precious for me. They taught me about their way of life, culture, values. I am Moldovan but a piece of my personality is American, because I tried to learn from them good things, what our people need to improve, I mean way of life or mentality, and I am glad that I began to think differently the things that helped my life be better.

11. If you could say one thing to all Peace Corps volunteers what would it be?
You do a great job, guys. Thank you all!

12. If you could say one thing to all Moldovans about volunteering what would it be?
Being a volunteer is important. It helps you get new experience, make the life of people be better.

13. What are some of your hopes for Moldova’s future?
I hope, one day it were the country with much more opportunities for people to study, work, and have fun, so that nobody have to work abroad and be away from his/her family.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
