//
you're reading...
Life ect., Peace Corps

Days like these

The poem below was written by Rebecca Hamilton, a Peace Corps Volunteer from Nepal.  She was recently evacuated, along with the other volunteers in Nepal; but her poem below is applicable in its heart to almost any Peace Corps Service.

On days like these
when all I want
is to curl up
under the drooping mosquito net
to lose myself in fantasies
of ice cubes and sharp cheddar
I go for a walk.

I pass a woman bent
under the weight of a load
twice her size
her breath rises
in clean, white puffs
like the kitchen smoke that
lies low over the valley.

A man chants
I smell wisps of incense
morning gratitude.

The sun finally reaches
the eastern slope of the Himalayas
their vast snow fields glow
beckoning
stretching their golden arms.

At my house, father squats
before a sputtering fire
his thin, green sweatpants
cling to his knobby knees
chai?
he hands me a steaming cup
milky, sweet, spicy.

On days like these
a cup of tea
can change my world.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

One thought on “Days like these

  1. Beautiful! May we all live each day contemplating our blessings.
    Love you. See you soon.

    Posted by Pat Altenburger | June 13, 2015, 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
