//
you're reading...
Interviews, Moldova, Peace Corps

Interview Series: Ann, Peace Corps Moldova

In coming to Moldova with the Peace Corps, volunteer Ann is fulfilling a life-long dream. Although the experience is not what she expected, Ann enjoys the daily challenges that sometimes feel less like progress and more like one-step-forward, two-steps-back.

1. How did you end up here? In this moment, in this time, in this place?

Always wanted to join the Peace Corps so when the time was right, I did. Here, this moment, this place: I had all these rosy visions of living the “typical” PC life in rustic village and loving family. But when I think about it, this being in a modernizing environment by myself in a sweet apartment was the real dream; the other was a daydream.

2. What’s your favorite thing about Moldova?

My favorite thing about Moldova: I love being here to witness the incredible sense and impact of history on culture and economic and cultural development. What you’re really asking: My favorite thing about Moldova is being able to feel fairly safe

3. What’s your least favorite thing about Moldova?

The narrative that the culture tells about itself.

4. A story or lesson from your service?

A person or organization can be both effective and wildly inefficient.

5. What do you miss most about home?

I miss that sense of familiarity and freedom to get up and go do what I want. In particular, I miss my favorite beach in Florida.

6. Knowing what you know now, would you do it all over again?

I knew I was taking some risks coming here. Sadly, some of those risks are being realized. But as I said before I left, even if those things did happen as a result of my being here, I felt that being here was more important. So, yes, at this point, I’d still do it.

7. Quote or song or picture that sums up your service?

“I Can See Clearly Now the Rain is Gone.

 

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
