//
you're reading...
Interviews, Moldova, Peace Corps

Interview Series: Paden, Peace Corps Moldova

Intro: tell me a little or a lot about you. Up to you!

My name is Paden.  I am originally from the small town of Afton, Minnesota. In 2012 I graduated from Coe College in Cedar Rapids, IA and a year later I came to Moldova.  I have studied and lived away from home before, a few times, in Korea, China, Ireland, Costa Rica and Washington, DC but never for such an extended period of time.

I have lived in a few different places in Moldova, from a suburb of the capital city, Cirescu, to a remote village bordering Ukraine, Larga.  Currently I am living in the City of Balti which is in the northern party of the country – sometimes called the Northern Capitol.

1. How did you end up here? In this moment, in this time, in this place?
I ended up in Moldova somewhat spontaneously. I know that after graduating from college I wanted to spend time abroad and was looking for a way to serve the USA while helping others. I attended a send of ceremony for new Peace Corps Volunteers in DC and more or less decided to apply the next day.

2. What’s your favorite thing about Moldova?
My favorite thing about Moldova is the opportunity. There is such amazing potential here from IT knowledge and linguistic abilities to culture; I cannot wait to come back in 10 years and see how the country has progressed.

3. What’s your least favorite thing about Moldova?
Mexican food has not been properly introduced yet to the general public. But I have no doubt that it will be soon.

4. A story or lesson from your service?
The most important lesson I have learned is that self-motivation is the most precious resource that a society can cultivate.

5. What do you miss most about “home” wherever that may be?
I miss being able to drive places. The options to decide when you will leave, what route you will take, and even the radio station are freedoms I really miss.

6. Knowing what you know now, would you do it all over again?
Absolutely, though would have packed differently.

7. Quote or song or picture that sums up your service?

Going to the spring with the host family, in Larga.

Going to the spring with the host family, in Larga.

This is the second in the interview series I introduced last week, here.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

One thought on “Interview Series: Paden, Peace Corps Moldova

  1. Paden, it is wonderful to hear from you. Stay safe. I hope to see you soon.

    Posted by pat altenburger | November 25, 2014, 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
