//
you're reading...
Moldova

Speranta Terrei

As those of you who are frequent readers of my blog know, I do not often post about my work here, although I have posted about my primary partner, CASMED and about another large project I have worked on here, Salut, Balti. There are a few other organizations I have done smaller projects with, including one that works with treatment of TB, Speranta Terrei. This non-profit was started 10 years ago by a woman named Feodora Rodiucova who is genuinely one the nicest and most self-less people I have met here. I have participated in a few local fundraisers in the forms of food booths since arriving here, that benefited Speranta Terrie (here and here),  where we raised 2,000 and 4,000 lei respectively, about 175 and 350 USD. However, for this organization to grow, they are in need of more funding that a few food booths can raise.

Right now they are seeking funds to complete a center for TB and Homeless rehabilitation and recovery. They have plans to offer a chance for the residents and beneficiaries to use their skills to produce various goods and to help them sell these goods. The project is being funded through a Global Giving platform, here, and today and tomorrow are bonus days. This means that any donation you make today or tomorrow will be partially matched and also if there are enough unique donations, this organization will be in the running for even more funding.

If you can spare $5, this is a great cause to donate it to. Please read more about the work they are doing and consider donating here.

 

Dora and a beneficiary at her office in the Primaria.

Dora and a beneficiary at her office in the Primaria.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Speranta Terrei

  1. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I hope you
    write again very soon!

    Posted by http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/kayaksfors341/1/1403997013/tpod.html | July 2, 2014, 5:02 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Balti Hram | I think about that every day - May 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
