//
you're reading...
Moldova, Peace Corps

La multi ani pentru miine!

Happy Birthday to me! This past Sunday I turned 25 years old and celebrated my first birthday in Moldova. Normally I’m not a big fan of my birthday. There’s a lot of reasons, but planning how I want to celebrate it is always a source of stress for me. This year however, I was so busy up until the week before my birthday, that I didn’t have time to worry about it.

I began birthday celebrations this past Thursday, with the interns in my office. I made them an American apple pie and some sugar cookies, since in Moldova its traditional to provide cake, juice and usually cognac to celebrate your birthday in your workplace. The workplace celebrations continued today when my partner invited another office we work closely with over and we all enjoyed pizza, pie, homemade sausages, cognac and juice.

Saturday, my actual birthday, I spent the morning shopping at the second-hand market, finding some great deals. I was surprised by two Moldovan friends with a portrait and then by other friends who had the waiters at the restaurant we went to for lunch sing a happy birthday to me. Saturday night a few other PCVs came into town and my site mate Matt hosted a small birthday dinner and celebration. My two site mates, Matt and Robyn and another PCV Paden, had put together a delicious mexican feast for all of us, complete with Chipotle rice and Margaritas. We even had cherry pie (what my mother always made me for my birthday) for dessert.

Flowers from one of my best friends here, and a card from another of my best friends!

Shopping at the outdoor piata with two PCVs and a Moldovan friend

Shopping at the outdoor piata with two PCVs and a Moldovan friend

My portrait from two of my Moldovan friends!

My portrait from two of my Moldovan friends!

Our delicious Mexican feast

Our delicious Mexican feast

Margaritas!

Margaritas!

Some PCVs visiting Balti for my birthday!

Some PCVs visiting Balti for my birthday!

The whole day was a perfect birthday celebration – great people, great food and a really nice time.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “La multi ani pentru miine!

  1. Your picture is great!

    Posted by Juanita | December 16, 2013, 6:59 pm
  2. That portrait is beautiful – they totally captured you!

    Posted by Julia | December 16, 2013, 7:59 pm
  3. I was with you in spirit – or in the cherry pie. Love you.

    Posted by pat altenburger | December 16, 2013, 10:06 pm
  4. happy happy birthday leah!!

    Posted by Tamara | December 17, 2013, 1:15 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Review | I think about that every day - February 3, 2014

  2. Pingback: Birthdays, Comedy Shows and St. Patrick’s Day | I think about that every day - March 25, 2014

  3. Pingback: FLEX | I think about that every day - April 6, 2014

  4. Pingback: I’m POSITIVE 2015 is going to be a great year | I think about that every day - January 31, 2015

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
