//
you're reading...
Moldova

A very CASMED Halloween

A suffragette and goth making a communist into a mummy.

A suffragette and goth making a communist into a mummy.

A double mummy wrap.

A double mummy wrap.

Pumpkin carvers and their creations.

Pumpkin carvers and their creations.

A hippy and a cat

A hippy and a cat

Men in black.

Men in black.

On Monday one of my interns, a former FLEX student (a program in soviet successor states that sends high school students to study for a year in the US), was bemoaning that there was nothing to do in Balti for Halloween. He didn’t want to go to a club, there isn’t trick or treating here and he asked if I’d want to join him and some other friends for a picnic or pumpkin carving.

After he left I was thinking about what I could do to celebrate Halloween with the youth here and the idea came to me that this was a perfect chance to have a small volunteer appreciation event. I asked my partner if we could host a Halloween party Thursday night at our organization and she said yes. For the party my partner bought some snacks, I invited our volunteers, interns and my site mates (other PCVs) to come in costume, with enough of their favorite candy to share and to watch a scary movie.

Overall the night was a success and a great chance to thank our volunteers, interns, share some American culture, peace and friendship. We wrapped a few people as mummies using toilet paper, carved some pumpkins, ate way too much candy and watched, A Nightmare before Christmas, in English with Russian subtitles.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
