//
you're reading...
Moldova, Peace Corps

Harvesting Corn

Those of you that have been following, know I am back in Stauceni for PST phase three (pre-service training). You might also think you know a bit about Stauceni, I’ve certainly blogged about running here, living here and training here enough; what you certainly don’t know yet, since I only found it out earlier this week is that my family here has a huge plot of land above the town where they grow corn, sunflowers and other produce.

Earlier in the week my host mother was discussing how disappointed she was by the rain and not being able to pick corn or make wine. Since these are both things I have never done before and are typical in the fall here, I made sure she knew that Saturday,  my only free afternoon this week, I wanted to help with either or both. She was surprised a little that I would be so adamant about helping but she was also happy about it and came met me after classes today so I could go with her and my host father to the fields. Since my family had been working since the morning in the fields, when my host mom came home to get me, she also gather some materials for a lovely picnic and we ate as soon as I arrived. Then we proceeded to spend the next four hours picking corn and husking corn. After that we gathered the corn into sacks and loaded the tractor truck. I enjoyed the route of pulling and husking the corn, but gathering it into the sacks and then lifting those sacks was less enjoyable – overall though I was glad to have been able to be a part of some harvesting in Moldova.

Riding in the cab of the tractor truck on the way from our house to the fields. You can see my host mom riding in the bed on a stool.

Riding in the cab of the tractor truck on the way from our house to the fields. You can see my host mom riding in the bed on a stool.

Picnicking with my host family.

Picnicking with my host family.

Some of the corn after husking but before bagging.

Some of the corn after husking but before bagging.

The tractor truck by the field. The white sack there is filled with corn.

The tractor truck by the field. The white sack there is filled with corn.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Harvesting Corn

  1. From Kermit’s to Moldova’s. Who are the young men in the picture?

    Posted by Pat Altenburger | September 29, 2013, 7:20 am
  2. I am sure that your work was much appreciated! Good job!

    Posted by Juanita | September 29, 2013, 2:15 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Q & A: That Moldovan Life | I think about that every day - August 25, 2015

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
