//
you're reading...
Food, Moldova, Peace Corps

Stauceni Hram

I am back in Stauceni for Phase three of my Peace Corps training, which happens to coincides with Stauceni’s hram and my youngest host sister, Maria’s, birthday. (Training starts Monday and Saturday was hram!)

It’s just before seven am this morning when I’m awoken by my host sister – quickly and quietly I roll outta bed, grab the giant animal balloon being offered me, my camera and my present and make my way down the hall to Maria’s room. We open the door and the family around me immediately bursts into La Multi Ani – the romanian happy birthday song.

Presents are given and we begin popping champagne and drinking it by the goblet full along with chocolate; the kids are given kiddie champagne. We head downstairs and have a light breakfast before we start getting ready for church. I attended my first orthodox service and first church service since being in Moldova.

You’re probably wondering – What is hram?  It is the “city day.” Every village, city or town here has one and always involves lots of food, wine, cognac, some dancing and maybe a concert. Our hram coincided with my youngest host sister, Maria’s birthday, so naturally a busy day of celebrations, masas and wine was ahead.

After church and a meeting in Chisinau, I returned to Stauceni, just in time for Anastasia’s performance on the main stage at the festival. Two of my site mates from Balti who were also in Chisinau for the same meeting and a few of the members of Team Stauceni, who were back in town early were all there and I got to enjoy the concert with them, before we headed off to our respective masas. My site mates and I were invited by a friend in Stauceni’s house before we headed off to the evening concert and my family’s masa.  All in all it was a fun day, busy and filled with lots of food, wine, music and friends.

Maria during the morning birthday masa.

Maria during the morning birthday masa.

The host siblings  before church.

The host siblings before church.

One of the student groups performing at the hram.

One of the student groups performing at the hram.

Attending a masa with my Balti site mates, David and Matt.

Attending a masa with my Balti site mates, David and Matt.

Dancing during the evening concert.

Dancing during the evening concert.

 

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Stauceni Hram

  1. Leah, you look great! Moldova agrees with you.

    Posted by Juanita | September 22, 2013, 12:04 am
  2. Leah — I agree you do look great. Love the blog updates.

    We miss you!

    Posted by Fred altenburger | September 24, 2013, 11:18 am

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
