//
you're reading...
Life ect., Moldova, Photo essay

Jocul de şah

After being sworn in, myself and a few other volunteers decided to take a walk and enjoy some ice cream in the nearby Cathedral Park. The giant chess set in the center was sitting unused, so myself and another volunteer, Max, who had discussed wanting to play before, decided to go for it. Since a few pieces were missing we conscripted the friends we had with us to pretend to be those pieces (wizard chess in Moldova).

Luckily my substitute pieces were good chess players, because my game was very rusty. We ended up calling a draw due to time constraints, but even with three excellent advisers helping me, I was barely holding my own. The new goal is to beat Max at chess in Cathedral Park before I leave Moldova.

My pieces (including my stand-ins/advisers)

My pieces (including my stand-ins/advisers)

Discussing

Directing my piece to make a move.

Max deliberates a move.

Max deliberates a move.

Clearly not focusing on the game at hand.

Clearly not focusing on the game at hand.

Making moves.

Making moves.

Discussing why we were in Moldova with onlookers.

Discussing why we were in Moldova with onlookers.

Max moving

Max moving

Deliberating

Deliberating

If anyone has suggestions on chess books or online places to play/practice let me know!

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Jocul de şah

  1. Looks like you were having a great time and the weather was beautiful!

    Posted by Juanita | August 9, 2013, 11:26 am
  2. so cool!

    Posted by marthakaren | August 11, 2013, 8:40 pm
  3. Lookin great Leah!

    Posted by Megan | August 13, 2013, 5:57 am

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
