//
you're reading...
Life ect., Moldova, Peace Corps

Raionul Fălești

Thursday I was sworn in as a volunteer and moved to my new home and permanent site in Balti. Since my work partner is out of town, my initial community integration has been left to my host mother, Rodica. Rodica is the Director of an NGO called AO Caroma Nord, that promotes ecologically friendly development. Friday morning we left early for a full day of town hall meetings, including surveying of community officials and discussions of ecological struggles and work within the communities. Over the two days we went to meetings throughout the Raion of Falesti, in Pirlita, Rautel, Ciolacu Nou and Pirizarei.

harta raionului1

I loved hearing about the movement, communities, seeing more of the country and meeting so many people and there were certainly lots of new experiences – trying house made cognac, riding in a Lada, using an outhouse for the first time in Moldova (I really am a PCV now!) and my first concrete offer of a marriage introduction (I passed). I met lots of other interesting people, had a masa at my host mother’s parent’s house, during which I tried homemade wine and almost saw several impromptu chicken fights over scraps between the many, many chickens in the yard. I also spent the night my host mother’s home in the country and picked (and ate) lots of raspberries and apples!

The mayor completing her survey.

The mayor at the first meeting, completing her survey.

My host dad waiting patently, reading a newspaper in the car.

My host dad waiting patently, reading a newspaper in the car.

A young participant finds a new use for marketing materials.

A young participant finds a new use for marketing materials.

Inside the primaria in Pirlita.

Inside the primaria in Pirlita.

My host mother helping her mother prepare the masa.

My host mother helping her mother prepare the masa.

The baby hens in my host grandparent's (can I call them that?) yard.

The baby hens in my host grandparent’s (can I call them that?) yard.

My host mother's house in the country.

My host mother’s house in the country.

Picking apples at my host mom's.

Picking apples at my host mom’s.

Helping some of the women in the village complete a survey on infrastructure and ecology in their village.

Helping some of the women in the village complete a survey on infrastructure and ecology in their village.

My host mom discussing water projects with a woman at the final event.

My host mom discussing water projects with a woman at the final event.

Tomorrow we will attend another town hall meeting in Glauden and then return to Balti. On Tuesday I will head into the office for my first official day of work.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Raionul Fălești

  1. Your next post will say that you milked that cow!!!! LOL!

    Posted by Juanita edmonds | August 4, 2013, 11:09 pm
  2. The areas you visited seem to be very near Transinistra . . . Hmmmm.

    Posted by Pat Altenburger | August 8, 2013, 10:34 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: URL - August 13, 2013

  2. Pingback: Christmas: Round Two | I think about that every day - January 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
