//
you're reading...
Food, Moldova, Peace Corps

Moldova Mosaic

Buna dimineata! (Good Morning!)

Last week when I was in Chisinau, during a break from training a few classmates and I decided to try out Tucano Coffee which is the most Americanized coffee shop in Moldova; all the employees speak English, they have wi-fi and the food and drinks and ambiance resemble Starbucks.

As we walked in, my friend saw an older PCV she knew and stopped to say hello to him. He was sitting with an older couple who introduced themselves to us. The couple was Dennis and Nova Maack, former Peace Corps Volunteers, who had served in Moldova from 2003-2005. After their time in Moldova they decided to found a non-profit called the Moldova Mosaic Foundation. This organization works to create jobs in Moldova, by providing loans for start-up businesses in Moldova. They have a great website, with lots of information not only about their organization, but also about Moldova, so please check it out – http://moldovamosaic.org/mmorg/.

Tucano

Tucano

Tucano's delicious selections

Tucano’s delicious selections

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Moldova Mosaic

  1. Yes! Finally something about peace corp.

    Posted by binaere optionen | June 19, 2013, 11:38 pm
  2. What a great organization — and the projects are very interesting and impressive. A real tribute to human ingenuity. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog posts, Leah. We followers are learning a lot from you! Best wishes for continued success and good times. Joanne Thornton

    Posted by Joanne Thornton | June 20, 2013, 7:21 pm
  3. Excellent post! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

    Posted by Darnell | June 24, 2013, 8:28 pm
  4. I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

    Posted by binary options | July 19, 2013, 3:44 pm
  5. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, very good blog!

    Posted by Bernhard | August 6, 2013, 1:37 pm
  6. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing
    your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Posted by opciones binarias | August 8, 2013, 10:13 am
  7. Great blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of
    any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this
    article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    Posted by www.facebook.com | August 19, 2013, 6:01 am
  8. Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you
    offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same out of date rehashed information. Excellent
    read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

    Posted by basketball | September 4, 2014, 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
