//
you're reading...
Moldova, Peace Corps

Stauceni, Moldova

Stauceni (pronounced Staw-chen)  is a suburb of Chisinau, the capital of Moldova and is where I will be living for the next eight weeks while I train, before I am given my final posting and sworn in as a volunteer. In general this is a wealthier area of the country; all of the volunteers who live here have running water, indoor plumbing, washing machines and a lot have internet. Most, but not all of the roads here are paved and there are two supermarkets (that I’ve found so far) and several cafes.

On Saturday afternoon, after our morning of classes the group of the thirteen PVCs in Stauceni, went on a walking tour of the town, to see where everyone lived and explore the area. The few host families who were home were really welcoming, inviting this large group of unannounced visitors in and offering us food and drink. Their gestures and words were touching and overall the afternoon was the perfect break from the language lessons and studying, that seem to consume every moment; below are a few highlights of the walking tour, but I’m sure I will be posting more about Stauceni as I get to know the area better.

Some of the gates in town had the olympic rings and 1980 on them. This was when Moscow hosted the summer olympics.

Some of the gates in town had the olympic rings and 1980 on them. This was when Moscow hosted the summer olympics.

A beware of dog sign in Russian.

A beware of dog sign in Russian.

Some of the famous Moldovan hospitality as we were welcomed in and given cherries, wine and cheese.

Some of the famous Moldovan hospitality as we were welcomed in and given cherries, wine and cheese.

A well in the village. Every house I've been to or heard of here has running water, but there are still quite a few wells in use.

A well in the village. Every house I’ve been to or heard of here has running water, but there are still quite a few wells in use.

A beautiful church in Stauceni.

A beautiful church in Stauceni.

About I think about that every day

I guess this blog will be a really long answer to the generic 'about me' question.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Stauceni, Moldova

  1. I love you leah! please please keep posting pictures. cheering you on with all my heart!

    Posted by kendall | June 10, 2013, 3:59 am
  2. Beware of Russian puppies! Mrahh!

    Posted by Ashley | June 15, 2013, 3:39 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Touring Stauceni | I think about that every day - July 25, 2013

  2. Pingback: Harvesting Corn | I think about that every day - September 28, 2013

  3. Pingback: Roosters, PDA and antiques | I think about that every day - October 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

Advertisement


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 442 other followers

Recent Posts

Archives

Categories

Moving to Moldova
